Almost every video-conferencing application available has some vulnerability, and Zoom is probably no exception – you could say that it has been talked about a lot in recent weeks, bad and good. However, Zoom users can do something to make their next conference call a little bit safer by adjusting some of the app’s existing settings.

None of us are completely immune to cybercrime, even minor crimes like “Zoombombing”. But being aware of security risks and taking proactive measures to protect yourself can greatly reduce your chances of being a victim. Although Zoom has recently taken steps to make its application more secure by adding new security features and enabling certain default settings, it is still your responsibility to ensure that these features are enabled and that your video conference is as secure as possible. as possible.

All of the following options can be enabled or disabled on the “Settings” page of your Zoom account.

Require Password to attend Meeting

Requiring a password to participate in your conference call is your first level of defense. Without this password, almost anyone can participate – not to say, everyone. If your meeting is indexed, protecting it with a password will prevent uninvited people from joining it.

It should also be mentioned that Zoom offers a function allowing to integrate a password in the invitation link. I don’t recommend it because anyone with the link can join it. If it ends up in the wrong hands, you may see an unexpected guest.

Here are the password settings that Zoom provides:

  • Request password when scheduling new meetings
  • Request password for instant meetings
  • Request a password for the Personal Meeting ID (PMI)
  • Integrate the password in the meeting link to join in one click
  • Require a password for participants who join by phone

To access these settings, go to your profile settings page in your web browser and make changes to your account.

Activate a Waiting Room

The Zoom waiting room is your second level of defense. If someone gets hold of your conference link, and that conference is not password protected, they will still be placed in a virtual waiting room and will need to obtain permission to enter it.

You can also find the “Waiting Room” setting on your profile settings page.

Do not use your personal meeting ID for public meetings

Your personal meeting identifier (PMI) is the meeting that is started by default. This meeting is, in theory, perpetually underway. This means that if someone gets your PMI, they can join your session whenever they want. You should only use your PMI for private meetings and refrain from sending it to the public. The fewer people who have it, the better.

Make sure that the settings that use your default PMI when scheduling a meeting or launching an instant meeting are disabled in your settings page.

Reign with an iron fist

Do not let anyone start the meeting before you, the host, arrive. Period. This prevents uninvited guests from jumping on you. But don’t forget that if you turn off the “Join before host” setting, it’s always best to be quick. Do not let uninvited guests in, but don’t keep important customers or colleagues waiting.

Know who joins us

Zoom has a setting that you can enable that prevents unauthenticated users from joining a meeting from the web client. This means that users will need to register their name and email address before they can participate, which lets you know exactly who is joining the meeting.

Lock your meeting

If all expected attendees have arrived in the meeting room, lock the meeting so that no one else can enter. During the meeting, you will see a “More” button at the bottom of the attendee list screen. Click on this button and then on the “Lock meeting” option in the context menu.

Kick someone out of your meeting

If someone goes to your conference room, you can make them disappear by hovering over their name in the right pane and selecting the “More” button. In the menu that appears, select the “Delete” option.

Then you need to turn off the setting on your profile page which allows deleted participants to reinstate. Once you get rid of the intruder once, you get rid of it for good.

Disable communication functions

One of the most interesting aspects of Zoom is that it offers participants several options for communicating with each other. However, if an uninvited person joins your conference call, they can use these features to harass participants. If you, the host, are the only member required to communicate, disable these features:

  • Private Chat
  • Screen sharing
  • Speaking of participants (cut everyone’s microphone)
  • Annotations
  • File sharing
  • Virtual backgrounds

Again, all of these features can be found in your profile settings using the web browser.

It’s hard to dissuade someone determined to want to play the spoilsport, but don’t just sit back and watch people take advantage of you. Good cybersecurity starts with you – always be ready.

Author

A Tech Geek who loves to write about Blogging, How-To's and topics around Android platform. He founded techulk with a sole purpose for providing visitors the exact information they need with simple and step by step working explanations.

Write A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.